GONE, An Anthology of 30 Crime Stories

edited by Stephen J. Golds, Red Dog Press, 2022

A woman running away from the darkness of her past finds it’s followed her to Spain. A man searching for his missing wife ends up lost in translation in Japan. A girl in financial distress moves in with her boss with gruesome results, a guilt-racked musician on tour in Germany slips into delusion and paranoia, a private detective investigating a disappearance finds the mystery solved close to home, an aging mobster tries to teach a young DJ the ways of the world.

Pulp, hard-boiled, transgressive, private eye, science fiction, mystery, cosy, literary and noir. Thirty international stories of crime. Thirty stories Gone

Includes Megan Taylor’s story, In Barcelona

World Goedam Collection

In 2022, Bucheon City of Literature, in association with the Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival, teamed up with UNESCO Cities of Literature from across the globe yo create the World Goedam Collection of Strange and Scary Tales.

Includes Megan Taylor’s story, Your Neighbour’s Packages


The Invisible Collection

edited by Nicholas Royle, Nightjar Press, 2020

‘These are stories for and of our time, a time when our lives are at the beck and call of an invisible force that plays havoc with our sense of agency and free will’ from the introduction by Angelica Michelis

Includes Megan Taylor’s short story, The Hitcher Story

Through Death’s Door

edited by Natalie Rix & Lozzi Counsell, Monnath Books, 2019

Since humankind began, the certainty of death has made us ponder on the uncertainty of the unknown—the afterlife, spirituality, reincarnation and religion—all in an effort to explore and try to explain our reason for existing, living and dying. Within this anthology, we have twenty-six diverse stories from authors exploring the concept of death in all its intricacies, possibilities and sensitivities.

Includes Megan Taylor’s short story, Facing Lacey

The Furious Gazelle Presents: Halloween

The Furious Gazelle, 2019

This anthology collects the winners of the Furious Gazelle’s Halloween writing contest, as well as some of the strongest finalists. The stories in this collection range from creepy fairytale to sweet recollection to downright macabre.

Includes Megan Taylor’s short story, Mouse

Dark Lane Anthology, Volume Seven

edited by Tim Jeffries, 2018

Sometimes people laugh when they’re scared.  Sometimes people scream when they laugh.  We at Dark Lane Books will, of course, leave it up to the reader what the correct response is to the stories contained in our 7th anthology.

Includes Megan Taylor’s story, Your Neighbour’s Packages.

May You: The Walter Swan Prize Anthology

edited by SJ Bradley, Valley Press, 2018

Enjoy 19 contemporary short stories chosen by Anna Chilvers, author of Tainted Love, and Angela Readman, winner of the 2013 Costa Short Story Prize, then carefully polished by award-winning editor SJ Bradley. Published in collaboration with the Northern Short Story Festival, Leeds Big Bookend, and the Walter Swan Trust. Judge Anna Chilvers says: “It’s wonderful that the Walter Swan Trust is dedicated to nurturing emerging talent and I am delighted to be a part of this.”

Includes Megan Taylor’s shortlisted story, Touched.

The Brighton Prize 2017 and Stories from Rattle Tales

edited by Edward Rowe and Erinna Metler, 2018

The winners, shortlists and highly commended stories from the 2017 Brighton Prize plus stories from the spoken word night, Rattle Tales.

Includes Megan Taylor’s short story, Winter Break.

Dark Lane Anthology: Volume Six

edited by Tim Jeffreys, 2018

From a schoolgirl who wreaks death and destruction on her bullies via a magical ceremony, a man-eating siren who picks the wrong kind of soul to suck, a worker at a factory where cheese is made by milking humanoid creatures… the stories in Dark Lane Anthology: Volume Six take the reader through a range of bizarre and disturbing scenarios. But these tales are not merely intended to scare or unsettle. The characters in these pages learn things about themselves through their surreal and otherworldly experiences…

Includes Megan Taylor’s short story, Drift.

Small Acts of Kindness

Nottingham Peacebuilders, 2017

Combining a wide variety of poetry and flash fiction, this collection, inspired by the words of Gandhi, King and Ikeda, is part of an ever-growing community project promoting peace through the arts.

Includes Megan Taylor’s flash fiction, Dragon.

Into the Woods

edited by Hannah Kent, Hic Dragones, 2017

“They were only trees, after all. Only trees.”

A magical place steeped in mysticism. A foreboding place of unspeakable terror. The forest is a place of secrets, a place of knowledge, a place of death, and a place of life. What resides within its shadows? Demons, fair folk, that man the adults warned you about… and the trees. The trees are everywhere. Is it safer to stay at home? Or are you ready to take a journey… into the woods.  Eighteen sinister sylvan tales.

Includes Megan Taylor’s story, In the Dirt, Under the Trees.


Laundrette Books, 2016

Fallen Kings, unlikely Messiahs and outright devils are your guides on this chilling safari through the dark heart of the human soul.
Monster is a fabulous collection of short stories, prose, poetry and script. It is arresting, alluring and challenging.
Monster will keep you up half the night to finish it, and afraid to sleep for the rest.

Includes Megan Taylor’s story, Fever.

These Seven

edited by Ross Bradshaw, Five Leaves Publications, 2015

7cover_THESE SEVEN Nottingham writers cover a lot of ground. Shreya Sen Handley’s Indian family discovers something going on at the bottom of their garden, John Harvey visits his traditional world of crime with a story more domestic than usual, Alison Moore realises that a weekend away is not always idyllic, Paula Rawsthorne finds that being a child of a refugee brings its own problems and Megan Taylor spends time in the Market Square waiting on someone whose arrival might change her life. Meantime graphic novelist Brick imagines a Nottingham version of Simeon the Stylite, who lived on top of a pillar for 37 years, and Alan Sillitoe is back on the streets of Nottingham, where this all began. Have you read THESE SEVEN Nottingham writers? There’s more to read from all of them, and there are more Nottingham writers out there. Many more. Get reading!

Includes Megan Taylor’s short story, Here We Are Again.

Willesden Herald New Short Stories 8

edited by Stephen Moran, Pretend Genius Press, 2014

41lsnb9i7ol-_sx310_bo1204203200_Sensual and atmospheric, embattled and defiant, in the throes of turbulent events and viewing from a distance, these stories are windows that open onto the men, women and children of our twenty-first century world. The people portrayed do not seek our pity nor our love but with each turn of a page, we may feel that we want to reach out to them to say, I know, I know, I know – you are not alone.

Includes Megan Taylor’s short story, Rash.

Weird Love

edited by David Chadwick & Nicola Harlow, Pandril Press, 2013

Weird Love coverWeird Love is a collection of short stories exploring the ambiguities and nuances of love in its most diverse, startling and destructive guises. This fresh anthology from published and new writers brings together lyrical, compelling and sometimes comic voices to tell tales of corrosive self-adoration, nuclear family fallout, forlorn desire, derelict affairs, and the quest for true(ish) love.

Includes Megan Taylor’s short story, The Woman Under the Ground.