Short Stories

Coming soon…

Silver Gates is due to appear in Nocturne Horror Literary Magazine, Halloween 2024


Daughters of the Corn in Outsider, Vol 2 (2023)

Rapacious in Dark Lane #13 (2023)

In Barcelona in Gone, a crime anthology from Red Dog Press (2022)

The Invitation in Weird Horror #5 (2022)

Your Neighbour’s Packages, reprinted in the World Goedam Collection (2022)

Winter Break reprinted in Uncertain Truths (2021)

The Hitcher Story included in The Invisible Collection, released by Nightjar Press (2020)

At the End of the Meal included in MIRLive’s evening of online readings (2020)

The Dining Room Ghost featured on the Classic Ghost Stories podcast (2020)

Facing Lacey in Through Death’s Door (2019)

School Run reprinted in And What Do They Call You? (2019)

Mouse re-released in The Furious Gazelle Presents: Halloween (2019)

Exposing the Dead in Occult Detective Quarterly#5 (2019)

Your Neighbour’s Packages in Dark Lane Anthology Volume Seven (2018)

Waiting for the Rat released as a beautiful individual chapbook from TSS Publishing  (2018)

The Girls in Neon (2018)

Touched in May You, The Walter Swan Short Story Prize Anthology 2017-18 (2018)

Your Skin in The Sirens Call Ezine #38 (2018)

Winter Break included in The Brighton Prize Anthology 2017 (2018)

Fox-holed, online at STORGY (2018)

Double Exposures, online at Mere Mortal (2018)

Meredith, online at Dissections, the Journal of Contemporary Horror (2018)

Drift included in Dark Lane Anthology: Volume Six (2018)

Dragon included in Small Acts of Kindness (2017)

Mouse, online at The Furious Gazelle (2017)

In the Dirt, Under the Trees included in Into the Woods (2017)

Fever reprinted in Monster (2016)

Here We Are Again included in These Seven (2015)

Rash included in Willesden Herald New Short Stories 8 (2014) and reissued online as The Willesden Herald’s Short Story of the month (May, 2019)

The Woman Under the Ground included in Weird Love (2013)


In 2017, Megan Taylor’s short story, Winter Break was a prize-winning runner-up for The Brighton Prize and made the longlist in the Bath Short Story Award.  Her story, Mouse, won the Furious Gazelle’s 2017 Halloween competition and Touched was shortlisted in the Walter Swan Short Story Prize 2017-18.

Megan’s collection, The Woman Under the Ground and Other Stories (Weathervane Press, 2014), features stories placed in several other contests. Bones was shortlisted in the Synaesthesia Competition 2014, and Berrycake shortlisted in the Writers’ Forum Competition 2014 and longlisted in the Cinnamon Press Short Story Competition 2013. Rash was shortlisted in the Willesden Herald Competition 2014, On the Island longlisted in BBC Radio 4’s Opening Lines Competition 2014, and Coach Trip Highly Commended in the Manchester Fiction Prize 2013. In 2013, she was also a runner-up in Tin House’s Shirley Jackson Competition.

For more on Megan’s short fiction, please visit The Woman Under the Ground and Anthologies pages.